More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern life style which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicines should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, the modern lifestyles have led to plethora of health problems which are not easily treated with modern methods. Therefore, it is sometimes claimed that it would be better if people make full use of traditional medicines to get rid of these diseases. Nonetheless, I am totally against this motion.

At the outset, it is widely known that indigenous medicines were formed a long time ago, which may be only capable of curing some simple illnesses. On the contrary, health problems are mostly caused by modern lifestyles such as a sedentary lifestyle or eating a lot of fast food, stress or depression…, which are much more complicated and do not commensurate with some conventional methods. If people take advantage of these medicines but not contemplate carefully, in all likelihood, they will have to struggle with some side effects and other terrible results.

Furthermore, the elements of these traditional medicines may be risky, which not only can not be an efficacious treatment but also is very likely to do harm to people’s health. Initially, environmental pollution along with the erroneous techniques in the process of planting herbs can make them as not fresh as expected. In addition to that, it is possible for traditional doctors to make incorrect identification of the required herbs. As a consequence, this definitely can exert a negative impact on people’ well beings in sense that they may be poisoning accompanied by lead to other fatal diseases.

In summary, in my point of view, it would be much better when people find other remedies to their health problems as an alternative to folk medicines.