More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Along with the socio-economic development, people have witnessed an increasing trend of spending more on consumer goods belonged to famous brands. While the demand brings about due to some reasons, I think that it influences both negatively and positively on society.

The surge of demand for famous brands is the result of two major causes. Firstly, globalisation gives people more conditions to become wealthier. In other words, it is an indirect reason that helps people approach expensive commodities more easier than years before. It is clear that the globalizing trend is really a silver bullet to get rid of boundaries among countries and promote economic development and bring more opportunities to earn a living. Consequently, the society nowadays perceives a little about basic living conditions so they desire famous brands rather than conventional ones. Secondly, ostentation is another culprit which helps famous brands increase their revenue. There always are some individuals in the consumer society, who desire to impress others by famous and costly stuff, and therefore, they work on possessing more expensive clothes, supercars and so on.

In addition, the trend of possessing more famous goods has both advantages and disadvantages. From a positive perspective, the growth of famous brands is an indispensible sector of economic development. If this sector can grow the business, it engages in solving unemployment and pays more business rates. However, negatively, the explosion of demand for famous brands also negatively impacts on communities. Customers would be swayed by advertisements which exaggeratedly glorify brands, consequently, they buy goods impulsively and even waste money on unnecessary stuff.

In conclusion, the increasing need for famous and expensive brands is the result of socio-economic development and personal disposition. This trend has both positive and negative influences on communities.