More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

As our life is changing dramatically everyday, the desire for items from famous brand has risen. I strongly believe that this is a negative development.

There are many reasons why the brand is the first thing to come to people's mind when it comes to buying products such as clothes, cars,... First, the advertising campaigns showed up in everywhere, they appear on TV, Internet, on the street,.. Their slogans and remarkable logos are planted into our brain so as when we want to buy a product, we will thing of the famous brand first. For example, when it comes to fast food, the first place come to our mind will be KFC, McDonald's or Burger King. Second, as people life is being improved, the need for better product, become stronger. A lot of people believe that the famous branded product will always mean better quality and services, thus making people to purchase.

However, the development, as I believed, is being harmful to the culture. If a famous brand is widely used by people in a country, the local diversity and richness will be put at risk and causing the lost in national identity. For example, products from the West such as rigged jeans and sneakers makes some of the clothing tradition in some ethnic area disappeared. Moreover, due to the popularity of the trend, smaller brands hace less room to develop. Although some product from local brands has outstanding quality, people still choose the same product from a famous brand with low quality.