Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There are many schools of thought. I would argue that there are more effective ways to reduce crime without increasing the sentences.

On one hand, increasing the prison sentences seems like the best way to deter crimes. It will make people think more twice before committing a crime. Second, longer sentences without parole will definitely increase deterrent. Sentences must be served in full and without appeal.

On the other hand, keeping people in prison longer could expose them to other criminal elements and that has a negative counter effect. An alternative way for this problem could be to get the prisoners to perform community service instead. This will give the prisoners an opportunity to give something positive back to the society. Another solution which is equally effective is to have a healthy budget for prison’s rehabilitation and educating kids how to be good law-abiding citizens. When everyone is educated properly, they would be less likely to commit crimes in their adult years. Along the same line, there should be mandatory community service hours for all high schools. This will be served as an investment that will greatly help people from making good choices.

In conclusion, while giving longer sentences is a good reactive solution. I believed that the authorities should consider more pro-active solutions to tackle the problem.