More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to have babies when they get a bit older than before. This phenomenon has several reasons concerned with the social and economic conditions we live in. While this may have some advantages, personally, I believe that the drawbacks far outweigh the benefits.

There are many causes for people to opt to have their first baby in a late age. The main cause is that most women nowadays have from 9 to 5 jobs. They choose to work for many reasons, even to feel satisfied about themselves when they achieve benefits for the society, or to fulfill their essential needs and to be able to pay for their bills. Eventually, they end up not having time to bring up a baby.

This situation may have some advantages to both the woman herself as well as the whole society. Firstly, when a woman decides to delay having a baby, she might go further in her career, and thus achieve what a woman with babies cannot. This will inevitably reflect on her self-esteem and increase her psychological well-being. Secondly, when women decide to become a part of the workforce for longer time, this will increase the total number of the workers increasing the productivity of the whole society.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I believe that delaying the decision for a woman to have a baby may have negative consequences on her. It has been proven scientifically that women have a certain period of ovulation during their life. If a woman decided not to have her first baby until her thirties or even forties, she might lose her fertility by this age due to physiological changes. Moreover, even if she succeeded to have a baby in such late age, she would not be able to bring them up as she would do in her twenties, because she would be less healthy with less power.

In conclusion, due to the changes in social and economic conditions we live nowadays, many women choose not to have babies in earlier age, and rather they prefer to have careers. While the female may achieve some progress in her career, which would reflect on the country's economy, I am convinced that she should put into consideration the physiological changes that may hinder her to have babies or to bring them up in a later age.