MORE YOUNG PEOPLE ARE LEAVING THEIR RURAL AREAS TO URBAN CITIES TO STUDY AND WORK. WHAT DO YOU THINK ARE THE REASONS? DO ADVANATGES OUTWEIGH ITS DISADVANTAGES?

Urban cities are witnessing more and more people moving in for the sake of education and job. In my opinion, this is mainly because of the environment as well as opportunities that cities offer. I also believe, although there are advantages, migration of junior citizens to urban centers can lead to too many problems.

Firstly, the reason for most young individuals willing to enroll at universities in cities is due to the environment, which is hard to exist in countries. In other words, cities are the hubs of confounding flurry of activities where students can learn not only through books but also experience, which in turn will enable them to get the most out of education. Secondly, more people leaving their home town is also owing to the job opportunities, which means cities offer the promise of social mobility. At the moment, the gap between haves and have-nots in cities is far less than in rural areas and this implies that cities now are the powerful vehicles to create wealth. Moreover, people enjoying the city life are finding it easier to reach the apex of the career ladder.

Having more students and employees in big cities would result in decrease of unemployment but there will also be more drawbacks. One evident benefit is that it would enable students and job seekers to find a job as urban areas are the engines of economic success. However, there are obvious disadvantages. First, the more people come to cities the more accommodation they need and if governments do not tackle this problem humanely, they will end up living in awful conditions. Second, even if countries find a way to accommodate all, we will go into environment crisis, namely carbon footprint. This would not only be a green problem, but also a major security threat. As a result, the next conflicts, wars and terrorist attacks will be triggered.

In conclusion, young people will not stop leaving their rural areas unless they find opportunities in their own countryside and while there are plus points of this migration, too much would be lost as a result. Therefore, governments should stop practicing favoritism towards cities in particular and should invest more in the countries.