In most countries disabled people are not catered for adequately, e.g. buildings are often inappropriately designed. Governments rely too heavily on charities and voluntary organizations to provide assistance and funding. What further measures could be taken to assist disabled people?

Governments around the world are taking appropriate measures to meet the requirements of disabled individuals, however, still in some countries disabled people are deprived of such adequate facilities. There are several possible steps that can be taken by the local governments for the betterment of persons with special needs.

Although, various organizations or charities are helping the disabled individuals, yet there are some responsibilities to be fulfilled by government bodies. Firstly, authorities should implement some norms for the designing of public and privately owned buildings. All infrastructures should built by keeping in mind the special needs of disabled persons. In all buildings there must have appropriate basic facilities such as accessible washrooms, reserved parking lanes, specific elevators etc.

Secondly, in order to meet the requirements of handicapped people, public transport system can be improved. For example, in my city there are small buses which are specially designed for the disabled persons . These buses drive such individuals from home to all shopping complexes of the city. The transit operators are well trained to assist the aforesaid persons. Other cities of the world can also adopt similar transportation for retarded persons.

In addition to this, financial demands of disabled people should also be catered by governments. Disabled people can not earn sufficient income for their "bread and butter". It is in the best interest of the disabled persons that government should arrange disability pensions for all of them. Disable persons should also be exempted from any kind of taxes.

In essence, disability should not be regarded as the burden for society. A little efforts by governments, organizations and public, can help the disabled persons to become self-dependent. All above mentioned solutions can play a vital role for the betterment of persons with specific needs.