In most of the countries, number of plants and animal species are declining. What is causing this? What can we do to change the situation?

Currently, the loss witnessed in variety and number in both plants and animals is indeed disheartening for entire world. There are several man-made factors responsible for this situation. However, appropriate measures can certainly help to tackle this problem.

To begin with, there are three major reasons that are accountable for loss in variety of plants and animals. To enumerate, deforestation is the biggest culprit, as trees and plants are cut down for development in infrastructure, urbanization, industrial estates and power plants which resulted to extinction of variety of vegetation. Consequently, animals rely on plants die out of starvation and lack of shelter. Moreover, globalization has given birth to immense industrial and economic growth causing huge pollution and global warming. Many animal and plant species could not withstand the weather changes, thus vanished. Finally, population is one of the major factors for this phenomenon. In other words, to fulfill the demands of mushrooming population fertile lands are utilized to grow cash crops and land of the wild life is snatched in the process leading to havoc.

However, the situation can be improved by taking some steps. Firstly, by creating sanctuaries many species of plants and animals can be protected. To explain, endangered plants and animals can be raised and saved in human restricted areas to prevent them from extinction. In India, for example, many wild life sanctuaries proved helpful to raise the number of Bengal tiger which was at the verge of extinction. Secondly, by implementing the strict legislation favoring the protection of such species can be helpful in saving their variety and improving their number. Furthermore, awareness among human is required to bring positive changes to the scenario.

In the light of all facts one can conclude that, most intelligent creation of nature is the most dangerous enemy of species that co-exist with him and unless he awakens, enlightens, it is indeed impossible to envisage a brighter future of this planet.