Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development; however, others think the social value is lost as a result of economic development. To what extent do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, economic development is one of the most important factors that every country should focus on. However, some people believe that it is the main reason for the lost social values. Although there exist some drawbacks, I still believe that its advantages do outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, boosting the nation’s economic helps enhance citizen’s life in different aspects such as living standard, medical healthcare and education. The wealthier the country is the more jobs it creates and thus the unemployment rate also witness a significant decline. In addition, people also have access to the innovation medical health care which makes them happier and feels relief thus increase the working productivity. Another benefit of the economic development is for the investment in the education sector, which enhance the qualification of teachers, subjects as well as the facilities at schools. As a result, a child will receive more quality education programs which then play an important role in their career in the future.

On the other hand, one of the major drawbacks of economic development is the losing social values it caused. While nuclear families become popular, and due to economic expansion, both parents have to spend most of their time at the office, leaving their kids at home alone. As a result, a child may not be well educated, and thus lose some social valuable lessons such as being respectful to elderly people. Moreover, it even worse while being unsupervised, these kids may easily engage in antisocial activities and commit crimes.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the benefits which are brought by the economic advancement of a country do outweigh its disadvantages. Most of the negative effects are due to the lack of consideration from parents and families to children, thus by raising the awareness of them may help solve the problem.