There is increasing concern over the substantial rise in the number of private vehicles. Although owning a car brings many benefits such as comfortable and flexible in moving, it affects adversely to our health and the environment. Thus, some people claim that the petrol tax should be imposed heavier to mitigate traffic and the amount of exhaust emission to the environment. I partly agree with this proposition.

On the one hand, traffic in populated cities causes many problems. In particular, while traffic congestion affects negatively to an individual habit, the polluted air damages both people’s health and the environment. For example, being stuck in a heavy traffic in rush hours not only make an individual unhappy and tired but also affect directly to their work-life balance. Moreover, absorbed fossil fuels also cause numerous serious diseases such as respiratory disease and lung cancer. Thus, the government should take some actions to tackle these problems. Increasing the tax on petrol may help, the expensive of vehicle’s fuels helps one think twice before making the final decision, thus the number of private cars may witness a significant decline.

On the other hand, besides reducing the number of private vehicles, the authorities also need to encourage their residents to use public transports. However, the current public transports may be uncomfortable and unreliable. In fact, the metro systems are often dirty and crowded due to the minority of low awareness people. Furthermore, in rush hours, because of the traffic jam, the train is slow and not always arrive on time. Hence, the tax which is imposed can then be allocated to establishing more reliable and user friendly public transports.

In conclusion, to protect our own health as well as the environment, I personally believe that in addition to increasing the tax on petrol, the government should also spend more money on building a convenient and comfortable public transport infrastructure.