Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the

protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human

population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversy about the use of animals in medical research and testing. As in medical research, animals have long been become a standardized test for new medicines and vaccines. However, some people argue that using animals in any kind of testing for serving human beings is unethical. Both views will be discussed in this essay.

There are various reasons that can explain why testing on animals are the most probable and effective methods. First, mammals and humans are descended from common ancestors, thus, share the same set of organs such as heart, kidneys and lungs. Indeed, animals are also susceptible from common human-like diseases like cancer, diabetes and heart diseases. Experiment directly new medicines on animals can certainly help researchers find out the adverse effects early, thus help to create a more effective medicine. Second, compared to the number of animals that we humans eat every day, the number of animals used for research is significantly smaller. It can be considered as a small price to pay for advancing medical progress.

Opponents of animal testing often argue that this kinds of testing are cruel and unethical. In fact, animals can suffer like humans do, thus, they wonder why we refrain from experimenting directly on humans but let it happens to animals. Another argument is, in several cases, medicine that was tested on animals might not be as effective as it is in humans. However, as far as I am concerned, animal testing is essential, it is not only useful for humans but it also brings the same value to the animals itself. Without it, some infectious diseases can cause the death of millions of creatures if proper vaccine was not applied.

In summary, I believe that using animals for medical research is essential. It brings the immense amount of benefit to both the animals itself and human beings.