The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that enhancing people’s lives should be considered as the most essential purpose of science. I totally agree with this viewpoint for the reasons outlined below.

As humans are the core of this world, everything revolving around them should do wonders to their lives, including science. It is humans who have discovered and developed science by many experiments and trials since they believe that it can enhance their living standards, therefore, science serves people as an obvious result. For example, the electricity or bulb invented by Thomas Edison had become one of the most incredible milestones in human history, which led people to a whole new chapter of civilization and industrial revolution. Clearly, science should benefit the ones who are not only the center of the Earth but also the ones who have kept evolving it through time.

Additionally, science without practical applications in people’s lives would be eliminated soon. Because only by being used and welcomed by people could inventions or innovations exist and be long - lasting in this world, the original purpose of science should always be satisfying humans' demands. The bankruptcy of some technological start - up companies in Tokyo, which prioritized the future life of the human race on Mars is one of the clearest examples for the elimination of science if it has nothing to do with the benefit of people. Therefore, the ultimate aim of science should be to upgrade the quality of people’s lives.

In conclusion, although the purposes of science can vary according to many viewpoints, in my opinion, its most important target should be related to people’s advantages. This might be the foundation of science and its future as well.