Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that instead of using an inordinate amount of money to repair and prevent old buildings from being ruined, they should be demolished and replaced by modern ones. I totally disagree with this opinion for the reasons outlined below.

To erect new buildings can cost a huge amount of fortune which might lead to a financial downturn in many countries. People assume that fixing antique structures costs a significant deal of money. However, expenses of constructing new ones can be far greater than that since it includes the cost of both knocking old buildings down and substituting them with new ones. In fact, many developing nations such as Vietnam or Thailand had witnessed an economic crisis due to this plan to the point where they had to postpone many construction projects for decades. Clearly, replacing old towers is not always a decent idea.

Restoration is a way for people to preserve their cultural values. As ancient houses and towers are the witnesses of time and history, they not only tell stories of the past through many events once happening there but they also are the most obvious sign of national culture by their decorations and architecture. That is why protecting them from being ruined is an approach to celebrate and preserve the cultural identity of a nation. For example, Gothic architecture has been considered as one of the most typical patterns of culture in France as they spent millions of dollars keeping their famous ancient towers intact through the years.

In conclusion, repairing old buildings can cost a great deal of fortune. Nevertheless, it is still worth the money since it is not only cheaper than erecting new ones but it also is a method to save cultural features from being faded.