most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extend do multi-national companies have responsibility towards local communities in which they operate?

Globalisation in the modern days has facilitated multi-national enterprises’ operations outside the confines of border. In my opinion, while generating profit remains the fundamental principle of corporations, they must also conduct their business in a socially responsible manner in areas in which they are based

In terms of social welfare, multi-national companies should create work for local residents and ensure that they are receiving adequate salaries as well as basic healthcare and insurances. The horrors of industrial revolution must be avoid- child labour, starvation wages and unhealthy working condition. Apart from that, enterprises that operate internationally are entailed to strictly abide by the local law, especially taxtation, to contribute to the local state budget to improve living condition in the area and maintain social stability. Finally, firms should also recognize the importance of sending aids to the deprived within the region they are based, since they have enough resources to make that possible. Philanthropic actions such as granting scholarships or donations, for example, can help the people in need and enhance company’s image at the same time.

From the environmental perspective, corporations must operate with utmost responsibility to safeguard the local natural resources and environment. Local communities may rely on such resources to survive, irresponsible exploitation of natural resources may not only leaves devastating consequences to the environment but it will also hinder the economic activities of the residents in the regions. Unregulated oil extraction of firms such as Shell or Texaco, for example, may result in oil spills which devastate the local fishing industry, as the incident in Alaska has shown. Furthermore, overexploitation results in degraded soil quality and pollution which in the long run damage local natural protection against disasters namely flood, landslide, bushfires, etc.

In conclusion, multi-national companies must not make profit at the expense of the welfare of the residents in the areas where they are operating.