As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Nowadays, most adults have full-time jobs in order to keep up with the difficulties of life and in the following paragraphs I’m going to talk to you about the factors that make people satisfied with their jobs and how can employers make that happent, and why I think that job satisfaction is rarely accomplished.

The first thing we’re going to discuss is the factors through which job satisfaction is accomplished. Firstly, work environment should be optimum for employees in order to achieve the workplace’s goals, e.g: stress must be minimal in order for employees to work peacefully. Secondly, the relations between employees ought to be based on co-operation and respect, for example, people who work with helpful co-workers always feel more satisfied and embraced which help them do better in their jobs. Lastly, work owners should embrace people who work for them and make them feel home, for instance: employers who work out their employees’ problems increase their willingness to work and satisfy their every need.

On the other hand, satisfaction in jobs can be quite hard to get due to many reasons. Firstly, work environment is mostly unpleasant, e.g: many corporations and companies’ environments are stressful and unsatisfactory. Secondly, many people do jobs that do not suit their skills nor qualifications, e.g: many adults do jobs that they didn’t even want only because they pay more money that can help with their lives. Thirdly, in most cases people don’t get paid well for their jobs, for instance: some people work hardly and never get sufficient money compared to the work they’ve done. All in all, from my point of view, the expectation for job satisfaction for all workers is quite unrealistic because of insufficient payments, stressful work environment, or unhelpful co-workers, despite the fact that, in some cases, some of these factors can be achieved.