As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In this contemporary world, more and more adults are getting so much pressure from their work, and many consequential diseases may appear such as sleeplessness, headaches or even depression. As a result, job satisfaction has always been one of the most important things when deciding whether to take a job or not. This essay will look into several factors contributing to it, and see how well expectations actually meet the demand.

To begin with, there are many different things that could lead to job satisfaction at workplace. First and foremost, surroundings play a key factor in helping the employee their work efficiency. In simpler terms, only when workers find themselves comfortable in a familiar and friendly environment can they fully concentrate on their work and achieve goals set by the company. This factor has been paid attention to by more and more companies, as they try to decorate their office with plants or colourful decorative items to create a more creative environment. What is more, coworkers and managers' attitude towards company's work does affect one's feelings about their job. To be more specific, a perfect working environment is one in which managers understand their employees' ability to the fullest and assign suitable tasks, while colleagues are willing to help each other and work well in teams.

So, have such expectations for job satisfaction actually been met? The answer is, it actually depends on the mindset of leaders in each company. For huge international enterprises and companies such as Google, Facebook, Amazon, workers are always equipped with the best conditions at work: creative environment, active and dynamic coworkers, managers who really understand and share a good connection with them. Meanwhile, in smaller ones, these factors are hardly acceptable, and employees have to work under challenging circumstances. This, undoubtedly, will negatively influence their performance in the long run if not fixed in the right way.

To sum up, job satisfaction is a complicated issue at the workplace and can only be achieved when many conditions are met, including the environment and the people themselves. As a consequence, all companies should try their best to meet the requirements for it, since they will have an everlasting impact on the workers themselves.