As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Working is a vital factor in everyone's life, and they spend at least a third of their life on average in their workplace. Therefore, enjoyment at work will be the main drive for an employee's well-being. This essay will discuss the elements leading to the comfort of the profession and provide general views on job satisfaction.

There are undoubtedly numerous ways to deliver career gratification. High salaries and promotions are the most noteworthy in today's civilization. One's life in an economy-dominating society only runs smoothly with stable finance, so employees can be willing to be dedicated to their work if they get paid reasonably and have a position suitable to their capabilities. It is the case for young or middle-aged workers who have more potential to obtain more success than their elder colleagues. Moreover, working conditions, such as the attitudes of employers and co-workers or the opportunities for skill improvement and health recovery, would contribute to employees' job satisfaction. For example, some people feel obliged to remain in a company due to the sense of belonging that their working team creates over a long period or since their company provides them with adequate vacations and prospects of learning new skills.

In real life, employments have varying views of expectations from their workplace. It might be a fact that a vast majority of employees cannot get enjoyment from their work. Rarely do they have choices in the kind of professions they can get, which leads to resentment and insecurity rather than work satisfaction. Besides, some jobs are monotonous and boring to retain good staff, resulting in high employee turnover. In addition, an oppressive boss, ill-willed colleagues, or poor working conditions with low compensation and inadequate benefits will cause job dissatisfaction among several workers. By contrast, a few people can manage to seek job satisfaction. That is because they can freely opt for their career after graduation with their degrees and choose to work in their desirable workplace that can draw out their full potential. Therefore, they are content enough with their professions to stick with them for a long time.

In conclusion, people can find fulfilment in their work from various elements, mostly compensation, promotion and the working environment, and there is a discrepancy in the enjoyment at work these days, with workers feeling discontent with their jobs outweighing those feeling the opposite. I personally believe that satisfaction is of vital importance in people's lives, and with the growth in human convenience, more and more people will be able to seek it.