The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science has frequently been stated to be formed and developed majorly to enhance the life quality of ordinary people rather than for any other purposes. In my eyes, this viewpoint had better be strongly advocated, and I will show my approval of the view in the following essay.

Initially cited to support my notion is the ever-lasting essence of science. Through specific methods, such as observation, measurement and experimentation, it has aligned itself with the natural world owing to studying its structure and operation. Therefore, whatever scientific discoveries researchers may make, they will show their link to people's lives. For instance, some might still doubt how three Newton's laws of motion can be applied. However, possibly to their astonishment, these laws can physically support how virtually every vehicle can move on roads with balance. Science also goes hand in hand with the times, solving theoretical and practical problems of society in each particular period. In this respect, circumstances of epidemics throughout global history can be profound evidence. Without the introduction of vaccines in the 18th century, diseases such as smallpox or the recent COVID-19 pandemic could not be extinguished or at least controlled.

In addition, science's most significant aim is to improve people's lives since its applications can mutually support technology, which has become a crucial part of the human world. We might be proud of cutting-edge technologies and grateful to their inventors, but only a few may know that these inventions could not exist without theoretical scientific knowledge. For instance, X-ray testing is now familiar to citizens in many countries. Nevertheless, if not accidentally discovered in the late 1890s, X-rays might hardly be known and popularly used in medicine.

In conclusion, enhancing the quality of human life should become the most vital purpose of science from my perspective.