Cycling has many benefits, yet in some countries, there is a decrease in the number of people using bicycles as their main form of transportation.

Why is it happening? Give suggestions on how to encourage people to use bicycles again.

As human civilization continues to develop through time, mankind has witnessed the introduction of many means of transportation. It goes without saying that bicycles are the most healthily beneficial of them. Nevertheless, the number of people mainly cycling is gradually lower than it used to be before. This essay will examine the main causes of this decrease and propose some possible solutions.

That fewer and fewer people primarily use bikes is attributed to some factors. The fast pace of modern life is the one that foremostly stands out. It seems that the speed of modernization is proportional to the pace of daily life. In the 21st-century society, where almost everyone has much work to deal with, transportation cannot be a distraction, so they choose faster means of transportation such as motorbikes or cars instead of bicycles. An additional cause is people’s mindset and awareness. Bikes demand physically more heavily than the others; meanwhile, with rapid innovations in transportation, people tend to be bodily lazier. Also, people now ride and drive without a sufficient realization of the adverse effects of burning fossil fuels on the environment. Furthermore, the trend of using motorcycles and cars leads to fewer bicycle lanes on the streets, which may lead to fewer safe rides for cyclists.

Several measures can be taken to encourage people to use bicycles. The first one is either to increase the price of petrol or to raise taxes on motorbikes and cars. By doing that, owning a personal motorbike or car will become costlier, and people may choose to buy a bicycle instead. Another solution is to improve people’s awareness. People, in general, and environmentalists, in particular, should conduct campaigns to raise citizens' awareness of the harmful effects of motorbikes and cars on the environment. It is of vital importance as only when people give more care to the environment will they have environmentally friendly choices, including bicycles. Finally, safe experiences for cyclists should be concerned. Authorities should build more lanes to serve only cyclists. Also, near offices and public transport, they can provide free bike parking facilities. It is a wise strategy to let people see the point of cycling instead of riding motorcycles and driving cars.

In conclusion, even though bicycles provide human beings with many benefits, the pace of the 21-st century life, together with our mindset, has influenced the decreasing number of people whose bicycles are their main transportation. However, we can significantly lessen the problem by creating the opportunity to encourage the use of bicycles and raise people's awareness. If so, we can have more and more safe travelling experiences and a better environment for the world.