Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

Video games are a concerning problem related to children’s education. There are different views about whether they are good or bad. Some claim that video games are harmless and entertaining, some of which are also useful in education. On the other hand, others assume that they are adversely affecting players. In my perspective, although the former view is valid to a certain extent, I am in favour of the latter one. In this essay, I will talk the two views over in detail.

On the one side of the argument, there are reasons why video games are a form of entertainment having advantageous effects. First of all, video games provide players with the ability to interact directly with other players all over the world in a virtual world. It fulfils the feeling of connecting with people, which makes video games quite similar to social media. Therefore, people are usually satisfied and relaxed whenever they play them. Besides, video games are also used for educational purposes. These days, people can often find out games that require players have a certain amount of knowledge or flexible ability to brainstorm to complete their levels. Through them, players, especially students, can promote their cognitive skills such as imagination, creativity, concentration, logical thinking and problem-solving skills.

However, I do not think those arguments stand up to scrutiny as I believe that video games influence detrimentally who play them. Many reasons lead me to believe this. The first reason is that long and incessant exposure to the monitors can be bad for players’ vision. On top of my knowledge, we can only see the images and graphics on the screens thanks to the lights emitted from them. Among these lights, the blue light has the most negative impact on the eyes because it gradually weakens our vision. Also, video games are addictive. In a survey, the vast majority of volunteers admitted that they could not give up playing video games because they gave them more opportunities for success, a sense of freedom and connections with other players. That sense is not the harmless and pure pleasure and gradually becomes an addiction, which results in students’ seriously bad problems. They will worsen their physical health due to the lack of sleep, exercises and outdoor activities and have poor performances at school. Moreover, not every game has suitable content for all people. Some of them are about violence or sexual issues. When teenagers are exposed to them, their minds either are susceptible to emotional indifference or have erroneous thoughts.

In conclusion, there are reasons for and against the idea that video games should not be regarded as a harmful activity of leisure. In my opinion, they have clear detrimental impacts on their players. Nevertheless, I still admit some advantages of playing them, and I believe that they will be beneficial if we select games wisely and spend a suitable amount of time on them.