In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Accommodation is an essential aspect of life that everyone should think about carefully. Nowadays, there has been a gradual rise in the number of people deciding to live by themselves in some countries. Personally, I believe this development has both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

On the one hand, living alone provides people with lots of benefits. The most noticeable one is that they will become more self-reliant. Living alone results in their doing daily household activities themselves as their parents can't help them from far away. This develops their life skills as useful tools for their life. Also, this makes them self-sufficient in their work, which plays a key role in obtaining success. Besides, people enjoy a sense of freedom and acute privacy when they live alone because they don't have to rely on anyone to do whatever they want to do. In most people's views, it is considered the most desirable element of a joyful life. Furthermore, a person in a family including more than two members has to wait for the others to finish using the appliance they need to use, which results in extra time in preparing for daily activities. For instance, a newspaper reported that families that include four or more members need 20 extra minutes on average to get ready in the morning. Fortunately, one-person families can solve it.

On the other hand, this trend still has some drawbacks. From a psychological perspective, a person living by himself tends to experience loneliness and isolation more frequently than the one living with family. Work, social relationships, etc. leads to mental stresses and pressures. These can be reduced better by emotional support coming from other members if they live with other people. From an economic perspective, living by oneself cause two problems. Firstly, a person living alone usually has to handle a higher financial burden, which is difficult in a world where the cost of living is rising day by day. Living in a normal family, which typically has between two and five members, the burden is shared by other members, which decreases the financial pressure put on each member. Secondly, the rise in one-person families consequently means that housing prices and rents are increasing. These increases may have an adverse impact on the country's economy.

In brief, I assume that the increasing number of single-person families is both a beneficial and a detrimental tendency. Considering sides of this trend, people should have a close look before making the final decision on where they live so that they will have as a happy life as they want.