Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A growing number of citizens with health issues have begun to adopt using alternative medicines and treatments in place of visiting modern-medical professionals in recent years. Although this trend can be advantageous in certain circumstances, overall, it is disadvantageous from my perspective.

Foremost among the grounds disapproving of the self-use of alternative medicines and treatments, most of them are not backed by strongly-based scientific pieces of evidence. Instead, they are based on ancient practices or anecdotal evidence, meaning their effectiveness and safety are not guaranteed. Therefore, patients who opt for such treatments may risk their health and well-being by avoiding treatments proven to work.

Another argument against relying on alternative medicines and treatments is that it can lead to moral degradation or unscrupulous labour exploitation. Many practitioners of alternative remedies lack proper training and certification, and some even engage in defrauding practices. Therefore, patients choosing those alternatives of cure may be at risk of being taken advantage of by those individuals. For instance, some ethnic minorities in mountainous regions with little knowledge believed in charlatans with alternative treatments instead of qualified doctors. Eventually, their health worsened and became more problematic to cure instead of getting healed; some people even faced mortality.

Those supporting alternative remedies argue there are still effective alternative medicines and treatments. A pertinent example is traditional Asian medicines, dating back hundreds or even thousands of years but remaining productive through various tests and verification. However, it is just a drop in the ocean compared to numerous counterproductive alternative medicines and treatments. In addition, their applicability can be limited, may not advance over time and soon be replaced by modern cures and remedies.

In conclusion, apart from some minor exceptions, the self-use of alternative medicines and treatments can be an ultimate negative development.