Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

What should have its place as the principal developmental aim of a nation is open to debate. Although economic improvement may, understandably, be the key marker of a country's success, I assume that it is not the sole factor to be able to play that crucial role.

Some believe that economic progress can contribute the most to the development of a country, which is acceptable for some specific reasons. Among them is that it can tackle the issue of unemployment, which is evident since a healthy economy can earn the power of job creation. Thus, the unemployment rate may experience a decline that is beneficial to society, leading to improved living standards as fewer people would live in reduced circumstances. In addition, economic progress can influence the image of a nation by creating a dynamic environment for technologies, inventions and foreign investments. A strong economy will allow new technologies and innovations to be integrated and applied, making the internal economy continue to flourish, and it can also help its country's standing on a global stage regarding political and trading influence so that there will be more international economic cooperation.

However, since economic progress would only reflect part of the material development of a country, I am in favour of the view that some other facets can equally contribute to its growth. Firstly, a nation's progress in social justice and equality, moral standards and citizens' intellectual level can also decide its level of attraction on the world stage regarding cultural and social development. Secondly, while judging a country's success, it is also vital to seriously consider its ability to ensure environmental sustainability and resilience. Thirdly, preserving national identity in the context of global socioeconomic integration is equally essential owing to creating a unique position for each country. Finally, putting a nation's economy at the heart of its success can be replaced by measuring that success by looking at its residents' health, well-being and happiness, as economic progress does not always affect the quality of life.

In conclusion, to measure the success of any particular country, economic growth can be one but not the sole and the most vital factor to be considered.