These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Gender equality is one of the worldwide aims to create a better world for everyone. One innovation contributing to reaching this aim is the change in men's and women's roles. It is true that the number of mothers externally working, along with that of fathers staying at home to look after their children, gradually increases. There are several reasons to explain that. For me, this development could lead to both positive and negative results in equal measure.

This trend is said to have occurred since the 1960s, and it has kept growing up to now for certain reasons. First and foremost, this is the result of the equal rights movement and women's liberation movement. When more women started realizing their values and life purposes, they fought for their own rights, which had been constrained by gender discrimination. In our modern society now, a woman has every chance to get higher education and pursue her own career. She is also treated as equally as a man. This, consequently, means that more mothers no longer stay at home in the sole role of homemakers, and men's taking care of their children at home is gradually socially acceptable. Besides, government policies such as maternity leave or shorter working hours have encouraged women to take part in the workforce.

On the one hand, this trend is advantageous. In a family, all individuals are benefited. Working women can relieve their husbands' financial burdens and satisfy their children's needs. Life is becoming more expensive, so their salaries are becoming more important to their household budgets. Meanwhile, men staying at home to take care of their children can have more chances to be on good terms with them. Also, husbands can realize the importance and the difficulties of housework and childcare, which makes them express sympathy and respect for their wives. Moreover, in society, thanks to women's involvement in labour, the workforce is more varied, and the quality of work improves better and better, which has contributed to the socio-economic growth of many countries.

On the other hand, this trend still has some drawbacks. First of all, giving birth to a child is precious but painful work for every woman, which only those who were or are mothers can truly understand. Nurturing the child after that is more crucial and challenging. Also, doing household chores is as hard as working outside, which is many homemakers' affirmation. Therefore, most people tend to believe that only mothers can be exceptionally good at both childcare and housework because of their flexibility and brilliance. Furthermore, many psychologists' studies suggest that children should stay longer with their mothers as they are considered one of the most mature and knowledgeable educators for children. They can understand more about their strengths and weaknesses to help them than fathers.

In brief, I assume that the increasing number of men becoming househusbands as well as women who are the breadwinners in their families is both beneficial and detrimental. Considering two sides of this development, it is concluded that each couple had better make the right decision on who stays at home to take the responsibility for childcare and who earns money outside to cover the cost of living so that they can live together in harmony and fulfill their own goals in life.