Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

University education is one of the most concerning aspects of the education of most countries. There are, consequently, views that differ on what it aims to. Some believe that higher education mainly helps the graduates get well-paid jobs for a living, while others assume that higher education can benefit individuals and society much more widely. Although the former view is undeniably valid to a certain extent, I am in favour of the latter one. In this essay, I will explain in detail both of them.

On the one side of the argument, there are reasons why it is claimed that the primal purpose of university education is to secure a good job for students after graduation. First and foremost, qualifications from universities increase the graduates' attractiveness to potential employers. As the world keeps developing, people's needs are growing day by day, and intelligent and skilled people are who businesses and companies take seriously. Therefore, people who get university degrees tend to be chosen by employers. Besides, what they acquire at university increase their future career prospects. Their academic knowledge develops their skills as required by the labour market. For example, specialists and experts from high education institutions earn more money, and companies value them for their knowledge.

However, I do not think these arguments stand up to scrutiny since I believe that individuals and society benefit in much broader ways from higher education. First of all, it boosts the graduates' collaboration skills and self-confidence. In most universities, students have teamwork and presentation assignments. They can learn how to present and give opinions publicly as well as how to work with other people effectively. Also, improving their social skills is a benefit. During the time studying at university, many students have to live far away from home, live in halls of residence, meet new friends and even find part-time jobs. As a result, their maturity grows and enables them to live more fulfilling lives. Furthermore, society gains a lot of contribution that the graduates can make to the economy and culture. We are living in such a very competitive world, so countries need high-educated people to compete and remain to prosper.

In brief, there are good reasons both for and against that university education primally aims to provide graduates with good jobs. However, I strongly feel that it has much more benefits for not only individuals but also society. I assume that higher education should be more concerned so that our country will develop successfully in the future.