Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether undergraduates had better study other subjects besides their specialities for degrees is crucial or not is still open to discussion. Though it is advisable to a certain extent that those attending tertiary education explore more than just their main subjects, I seem inclined to the view that they should prioritize their focus on their qualifications.

On the one side of the argument, learning about other subjects can get advantageous for broadening the learners' horizons. Through a comprehensive academic exploration of various fields, they can master discipline, vitally fostering a holistic understanding of the world. This interdisciplinary approach encourages creativity, problem-solving and critical thinking abilities. For instance, a university student majoring in math pedagogy can take a philology course to accumulate insights into natural and social sciences and humanities. In addition, exploring diverse subjects may let students be assessed on several competencies. As a result, it can uncover new interests and passions, shaping students' future career paths.

Nevertheless, proponents of dedicating all attention to studying for a qualification, including me, would highlight the importance of deep specialization. Cited as a well-based reason, focusing exclusively on one subject can allow students to acquire in-depth expertise, which may ensure they are well-prepared for their chosen profession. In other words, investing adequate time in mastering core concepts and skills of their field can help graduates develop a competitive edge and increase their success chances in the job market. Furthermore, prioritizing specific academic fields can prevent students from being snowed under high tension. Despite providing students with a wide range of knowledge, studying various university subjects might also put them under heavier pressure to maintain stable performances in both specialities and others. Therefore, if students do not need to attend many university courses besides their majors, their well-being will be less likely to get sick from fatigue.

In conclusion, though a broad exploration of many fields at university may be reasonable to a certain extent, deep exploitation of academic specialities seems better for undergraduates from my perspective.