Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The view that making recycling part of the law is the only way to tackle the problem of little recycled household waste is still open to debate. From my perspective, policymakers can impose regulations on recycling, but it is not the sole measure of the environmental issue mentioned.

Among the explanations cited to support authorities in passing laws on recycling is the existing reality of recycling domestic waste. Nowadays, it is the case that many citizens seldom spontaneously participate in the recycling process in most circumstances due to their negligence or lack of time. Once recycling becomes a legal requirement, more and more households will follow as a civic responsibility. Having those laws imposed will also hit the psyche of those who have not recycled their waste before since many fear getting involved in fines. Furthermore, the regulations may make people more careful about their household waste production, which has created a throw-away society influenced by consumerism.

However, it had better be noticed that recycling laws are not the only solution to the issue that only a little domestic waste is recycled. Education should also be among the top priorities in dealing with this issue. It is advisable that politicians put environmental education, in the place of legal regulations, at the centre of recycling campaigns. For instance, students at school should learn about recycling through several lessons in the standard curriculum or extracurricular projects organized by their schools. Moreover, lessening the production of household product packaging can be a measure. A large proportion of domestic waste comes from the plastic packaging of the products people use daily. If this quantity of packaging were limited from the beginning or environmentally optimally produced, the recycling problem would become less severe. Authorities, therefore, can impose stricter regulations on packaging-producing businesses to deal with the issue of recycling.

In conclusion, recycling laws can be essential but not the only solution to the problem of little domestic waste being recycled besides education and packaging-producing reduction.