In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's society, the Internet has become the choice of most people for knowledge storage instead of books like they used to do. Although this development has posed some threats, from my perspective, the benefits it yields still outweigh those drawbacks.

In the opinion of some people, storing knowledge on the Internet appears disadvantageous, for it brings about certain drawbacks. A downside that needs mentioning is that the information reliability is not well guaranteed. Things posted on the Internet are usually not censored by any department specialized in information verification, which leads to the rise of fake or inaccurate news. Therefore, social media users would have difficulty differentiating between true and false information if it were not for their alertness. Furthermore, the Internet has also paved the way for the emergence of copyright infringements. Lots of websites are releasing pirated works on digital platforms to attract viewers and make extra profits illegally, causing a loss of a lot of money and effort for original content creators.

However, I believe that knowledge stored on the Internet has more significant advantages than the drawbacks mentioned. One of those is the diversity of sources. People can search for information from many web engines such as Google, Firefox or Microsoft Edge, and they can gain a wide range of knowledge from various websites with a couple of mouse clicks. This diversity is aligned with the availability of the sources, as anyone with an Internet connection can access information immediately anywhere, which is cheaper and more time-saving than looking for the same amount of knowledge from printed books. Another beneficial point that knowledge stored on the Internet brings about is that it can be kept in different formats. Compared to a book whose information is presented chiefly as texts and static visuals, including graphs and pictures, the Internet allows knowledge to be held in some other more vivid forms (videos and audio), which is suitable for auditory and visual learners, who tend to learn well via podcasts and videos instead of long paragraphs of texts.

In conclusion, despite its apparent disadvantages, storing knowledge on the Internet certainly seems more advantageous to people using it.