Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life.

Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern era of global consumer culture, adverts appear more popular and widespread, becoming part of our daily life. Though considering this development being negative is reasonable to a certain extent, I assume it would rather be beneficial in our lives.

Some believe advertisements getting more common is detrimental for some reasons, among which is that they can manipulate consumers. The frequent appearance of ads can persuade people to follow the latest trend, especially in clothing items and technological gadgets. In other words, it aims to convince consumers to expend their money on seemingly unnecessary things with the mere thought that they may make them happier. In addition, advertisements can lead to a rise in the rivalry between businesses supplying the same product category. With various ways to advertise their products, chiefly having successful celebrities engage in the advertising campaign or creating unique original slogans to distinguish themselves from others, the trade competition between corporations now focuses mainly on marketing. As a result, there might be some unfair competition in which companies publicly demote rival ones to improve their position in the marketplace.

However, I believe the widespread emergence of advertisements in daily life can yield more significant benefits than drawbacks. The most apparent advantage is that it can suggest numerous product choices to customers. An advert can be a short communication between the manufacturers and their consumers, through which the buyers can compare the product advertised to similar ones to select the most suitable for them. Without advertisements, people would have fewer options and less access to high-quality products. Besides, advertising is an essential part of marketing, appealing to a great deal of employment and potentially solving the alarming issue of youth unemployment. Moreover, an advertisement can be a product of art that can satisfy consumers' tastes. For example, inspired by different art styles, the ad video “Masterpiece” by Coca-Cola is an animation catching the eye of customers by using integrated graphics featured in famous artists' brushstrokes to convey a positive message.

In conclusion, despite the apparent disadvantages of advertisements becoming more popular, I assume this trend is positive rather than negative.