Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The environmental issue currently raising the most concern among human beings is open to debate. Although the extinction of various species of flora and fauna seems the most urgent, there are other more pressing environmental matters from my perspective.

According to some people, reduced biodiversity is worthy of serious consideration for the devastating consequences it may trigger unless prevented or solved in time. An environmental aspect it can detrimentally influence is ecological balance, the closest biological term to biodiversity. Suppose the number of some particular species in the ecosystem decreases significantly. In that case, it will not be able to recover, leading to the degradation of other related species through food chains, making the whole system degraded. Furthermore, another factor that the gradual loss of species can affect is human beings since we are also a part of the vast global ecosystem. For human development, plants and animals play a vital role as a great source of food and medicine for daily life, a diverse source of raw materials for industries, and an excellent source of genes for scientific research. Therefore, the extinction of many species of flora and fauna can create extreme food insecurity, make millions of people have difficulty finding health treatment, and cause industries and biosciences to struggle.

However, there are still other more severe environmental matters that are in urgent need of solutions, specifically climate change and pollution. Climate change, mutually related to global warming, is the permanent transformation of the climatic system that may last for millions of years, and it is currently having detrimental influences on the environment and human life. Among the long-term outcomes cited are the appearance of the ozone hole, the gradual rise of sea level, the complicated change in the weather pattern and the more frequent occurrence of acidic rains and natural disasters. On the other hand, pollution, the issue of the natural environment being contaminated and having its features change adversely, is putting pressure specifically on human development day by day. People nowadays may experience air pollution causing respiratory diseases, water pollution detrimentally impacting fishing activities or soil pollution reducing the amount of land available for agriculture. There is also noise pollution which can negatively affect human hearing and result in sleep disorders, visual pollution which may create a sense of life insecurity and other types of pollution that can confuse human daily life and production.

In conclusion, though declined biodiversity may be a pressing issue, other problematic environmental matters, including climate change and pollution, are getting more severe and demanding more urgent solutions.