More and more people now own cars. What are the problems associated with an increase in the usage of private cars? How can these problems be solved?

It goes without saying that people's demand for having a private car in modern society is increasing as a result of the predominant growth of industry and technology. Consequently, this trend leads to some undoubtedly negative effects challenging our society. This essay will discuss those problems and propose some possible solutions to them.

Due to the rise in the number of private cars, social problems are bound to crop up. The main issue is environmental degradation. Since there are more and more cars on the streets and roads, there is a higher possibility of causing traffic congestion, which results in pollution, including air pollution and noise pollution. An additional problem is the rising price of petrol and diesel oil. Behind this problem lies the reason that it is associated with the fuel need for vehicles. Further pressures will include the decline in human health. Clearly, the pollution caused by this trend leads to detrimental impacts on people's health, especially the respiratory and nervous systems. However, they also see this as a problem because their preference for the use of private cars even for short distances significantly reduces the time they walk every day. It will have adverse impacts on their fitness.

The problems of this trend can be reduced by using several strategies. The first thing to do is to enhance the overall quality and reliability of public transport. It is advisable because it ensures people's belief in them and gradually reduces the growth of own car mobility. Another sensible solution is to impose higher taxes on petrol and car sale. This will make car owners feel discouraged, and fewer people have any intention of owning a car. Finally, it is recommendable that carpooling (also called car-sharing) be applied broadly. It is briefly understood as “the sharing of car journeys so that more than one person travels in a car”. This is a quite efficient way to solve the problem of having more private cars since it is significantly correlated with transport operating costs and measures of social capital, such as time spent with others, eating and drinking, etc. In fact, this solution has been applied in many countries such as England, Singapore, etc., and it is popular for people who live in places with high residential densities.

In conclusion, although the problem of the increasing number of private cars may seem impossible to eliminate, there are concrete steps that can be taken to tackle it. By taking these steps, we can make our society turn out a better, happier and more convenient place to live in.