Most people think about creating an ideal society, but most of the time fail in making this happen. What is your opinion about an ideal society? How can we create an ideal society?

Granted, many great philosophers have come up with what an ideal society should comprise and how we can achieve it, but our contemporary society is far from ideal since countless problems still permeate our every aspect of life. As far as I am concerned, an ideal society has to do with several fundamental factors including but not restricted to people’s freedom, and well-being; hence, it is extremely problematic to create one due to the conflicting and personal nature of each of the aforementioned elements.

A milieu in which everyone could have the autonomy to do what they wish, achieve high levels of happiness and is well catered for should be considered ideal. With regard to freedom, it is unanimously agreed that being stripped off of the freedom of choice, speech, or expression, one can hardly find an environment worth living. As for people’s well-being, this abstract concept is difficult to define due to its personal nature: one may achieve a high level of satisfaction without many material possessions; one may feel so depressed or helpless that he commits suicide, even though he may have an unimaginable amount of wealth.

It would be nigh on impossible to create an ideal society where everyone is happy and well and free to do what they like. To look for a supporting example, one need look no further than smoking. Certainly, imposing a ban on such a so-called self-destructive habit would indeed force smokers to quit, but, at the same time, it would also violate their freedom of choice. Perhaps, a step that would go a long way in forming an ideal society would be to educate people to believe in certain sets of beliefs, and values. Nevertheless, such an ideological indoctrination would result in the loss of critical thinking, which plays a vital role in the progression of any society.

In conclusion, an ideal society is undoubtedly desirable and consisted of many different elements, but it is futile, or to be more exact, unrealistic to try to achieve one.