Academic subjects are now being prioritized in most educational Institutions, wherein authorities have now started substituting athletics & Physical Training classes with school subjects. These institutions believe that outdoor activities are a waste of time and priority should be given to subjects that will improve the marks of students. I totally disagree with this view.

Academics are, no doubt, the most important aspect of students’ lives. Children need to concentrate on their studies in order to achieve good results, which will have an impact on their future preferences. This choice will help them to choose a career of their desire, which will in turn be beneficial to earn good salary and improve the standard of living. However, claiming that sports is not beneficial to children and should not be included in the school curriculum is unacceptable.

Outdoor activities such as Physical Training, volleyball, cricket etc., play an important role in the physical development of children. It not only improves the development of a child, but also helps in enhancing the imagination of children. This results in strong growth of a child both physically and mentally. Games and sports help children to relive their stress of studies and school pressure to perform well. A rested and relaxed mind is always able to perform more efficiently than a stressed out mind. Secondly, games and sports help to develop the sportsmanship in children. Success and failure should be accepted gracefully and which better place to learn this, than through sports and games.

In conclusion, while academic subjects are important to achieve success in life, sports and physical activities are essential for the overall development and growth of children. Institutions should make it compulsory to have one hour of outdoor activities along with other academic subjects, only then can the future generation be ready to take up new challenges as we all know health is wealth.