The trend followed these days is to possess the latest gadgets, be it smartphones, desktops or other technology such as gaming units and so on. While it is good to keep ourselves up to date with the new technology, in my opinion it is not ideal nor is it beneficial to purchase the latest devices as and when they are sold in the market.

The main aim of software companies these days is to outsmart each other by developing better & upgraded technology. Smart phone companies such as Apple & Samsung release newer and better versions every couple of months. Upgraded models mean better picture quality, smarter apps, etc. These phones, desktops, etc make our lives easier and exciting however for a limited period of time. When a new version of the gadget is released, we are tempted to possess it. What we fail to realize is that most of the basic features of the new product is similar to the older version. In our attempt to get hold of the latest technology we are spending our hard earned money on unnecessary luxuries.

Secondly, we as human beings tend to become more materialistic and competitive with our fellow friends & colleagues in a race to attain these new products. With such attitude, we are setting a bad example to the future generation who would assume that in order to succeed we need to possess these latest technologies.

In conclusion, I would like to state that possessing new and latest versions of various gadgets & technology will not make us any smarter. We need to widen our prospective and concentrate more on developing our skills and being best versions of ourselves.