Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

Motorways are the easiest ways to travel to mainly metropolitan areas from rural areas, however usually this has been insufficient attention paid to the resulting problems. The increase in excess to motorways and how to reduce such usage has become a major concern for the governments.

This has been the case in the UK where there has been a steady rise in the number of vehicles in recent years. As more people are emphasizing personal enjoyment and mostly for career focusing lifestyles resulting the traffic congestion issues on motorways. As this congestion is environmentally and costly to deal with, local authorities have been required to ensure that the arrangements made to dispose of the surplus detritus are efficient and practicable, considering social as well as economic implications.

For many years, the preferred option for refuse congestion in Britain has been the congestion charges. In fact, the UK, more than any other countries have been concerned with environments and adapted with a policy favourably to get rid of its issue. However, problems have arisen with this method and alternative solutions have had to be researched.

One of the biggest drawbacks to congestion charges is the effectiveness. In the past, at the time of introduction of policies, the motorway usage was dropped and the roads were empty as majority of public switched to use public transportations. But by 2015, since the difficulty to deal with the public transportations such as crowd, no private spaces and transfer times, viable alternatives to transportation have to be found. As a result, the number of motorway usages has returned its figure.

Another disadvantage of this is the environmental impact made by global warming and greenhouse gases emissions. All vehicles are dependent on fossil fuels which substances being released as a toxic chemical that are causing multifarious environmental hazard. However, perhaps the most apparent annoyance for general public is the nuisance that results from the traffic, noise, the dust and the unpleasant odours emanating from the motorways.

To solve this issue, the local authorities should impose stricter rules so that drivers cannot use motorways. The government could provide more alternative public transportation to cover long journeys for a shorter time to get rid of personal drivers from the motorways. Alternatively, the legal authorities can restrict the hours of using motorways to restrict the flow of the vehicles on the roads.

In conclusion, motorways are the most convenient and easiest form to travel and which can cover for a long distance. However, this can cause various problems such as environmental issues. Even though in the past, the government charged congestion fees, this has no impact on the number of vehicles using motorways. Therefore, other alternative methods to control the motorway usages seem urgent.