The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems? What measures can be used to solve these problems?

It is not uncommon to see residents migrate from rural areas to metropolitan cities to seek job opportunities. While this phenomenon may cause several problems in both cities and suburban areas, I believe there are approaches that can be implemented to tackle these issues.

The problems associated with the rural-to- urban shift are obvious and worth mentioning for both parts. In the first place, the increasing number of population creates overcrowding in cities. Residents would suffer from high volumes of traffic and long lines of waiting for various services. Also, more talents pouring into cities means more competition for locals, consequently creating an anxious environment in the city. Truly, It is easy to find hundreds of graduates fighting for one spot in a big company. Even the employed people are also in a state of constant anxiety, worrying that they would not be able to keep their positions and be replaced one day. What’s more, more residents also means more household waste and pollution in cities.

In the case of the countryside, with less talents working in the suburb, their economy slackens. citizens end up earning lower salaries than those in the cities. Also, this phenomenon creates a gap between rich and poor, which might lead to social insecurities in the countryside. For those young minds who stay in their hometown, they might find it difficult to be employed as less job opportunities are there. Feeling demotivated, citizens may blame local authorities for having such situation, and some of them may even commit crimes as their revenge to the government.

There is almost certainly not one solution to this problem given the complexity of the causes. However, one option could be to relocate some companies and factories to rural areas, therefore creating more job opportunities there. In this way, young minds are encouraged to stay in the countryside. Secondly, suburb authorities can offer better incentives to attract young graduates to work there. Once they established their family and communities, there is a high chance that they would settle down and contribute positively to the rural areas.

To conclude, the migration of residents moving from agricultural areas to cities brings drawbacks to both cities and rural areas. However, efforts associated with providing ample opportunities and encouraging more young people to work in suburban areas would help alleviate the problems.