Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether museums and art galleries out to pay attention to local or international artworks triggers several conflicting discussions. Personally, I am totally convinced that local exhibitions should devote entirely to their countries’ traditional and historical quintessences.

Firstly, this action could spark a stronger sense of cultural identity. On the societal level, ancient artworks could raise social awareness of ancestry, history and the way in which the previous generations had sacrificed for our peaceful lives. From foreigners’ perspective, they would prefer to experience and expose themselves to cultural values of the host country rather than other foreign nations. Take one of the most prestigious tourist attractions all over the world, the Great Wall of China as an example, it not only illustrates Chinese deep-rooted culture but it also brings enormous benefits for China by selling tickets for both domestic and international visitors. Moreover, this landmark attracts significant attention worldwide, makes China become a desirable destination only by means of its unique and indigenous characteristics.

Secondly, local exhibitors should not prioritize international traditions while they have not communicated all local values to the public yet. In other words, a country itself comprises a wide range of both tangible and intangible cultural heritage needed to be conserved and popularized more. If we do not preserve our cultural traits, then they will eventually disappear. For instance, “Cheo” musical technique of Viet Nam, which is recognized and acclaimed by UNESCO, has almost fallen into oblivion amongst the VietNamese young generation and gradually superseded by digital music, especially those from Korea and the US.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that cultural uniqueness plays an integral part in one country and it should be appreciated as well as protected entirely by local museums and exhibitions before promoting foreign countries’ culture.