Museums and art galleries should show object from their own country rather than collection from international sources.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums are treasure house of art and culture of a nation. It is argued that museums and art galleries ought to display local artefacts only instead of international collection. However, I only partially agree with this given assertion, my supporting arguments along with the rationales thereof are discussed in the following body paragraphs.

There is no denying the fact that showcasing local history and arts in museums carries great values. To commence with, display of the indigenous history and art help to connect the native people with their roots, especially the youngsters. They come to know about their tradition and heritage. Furthermore, this helps to preserve the unique cultural identity of the native culture and also acts as source of knowledge for the future generation. Also, an emphasis on local artefacts will be a cause of attraction among the foreign tourists wishing to know about the local culture. This will help to boost the finances the museums and the art galleries, which they can utilise to maintain them.

However, on the flip side, displaying obkects from other countries also has various merits. First and foremost, showcasing of collections of art and history from foreign countries will help to generate interest among the local people about other cultures. This will widen their knowledge about histories about other countries. Moreover, giving importance to international art and history will go a long way. In promoting intercultural harmony. Individuals will gain knowledge about history, traditions, heritage of foreign cultures. This will encourage acceptability among the masses for the culture of the each other and will be helpful in intermingling of different cultures

In conclusion, it is apparent from the above discussion that display of local culture and history as well as international collection both are equa5important for the visitors visiting museums and art galleries. Showing local objects helps individuals to link up with their past and also is beneficial to save history for tge upcoming generations. International objects of art and history provide the knowledge to visitors about other cultures and also help to promote co-operation between distinct cultures.