Some people support development of agriculture, like factory farming and scientific creation of fruits and vegetables, while other oppose. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Yesterday's fiction is today's reality. Such colossal developments have taken place in agriculture which we could not even think of earlier. It is a highly debated issue as to whether the growth of this industry is a blessing or a curse. This essay shall delve into the merits and demerits of these developments.

On the positive side, farmers now have a wide range of selection, in terms of seeding, irrigation and use of pesticides and fertilizers. Secondly, technology has saved people from tedious work and in the mean time increased the production markedly. All this is needed to meet the demands of the burgeoning population.

Furthermore, genetic modification of foods has given us such species which need little or no insecticide and no fertilizers. the quality of food has also improved. For example, fish gene has been added to tomato to make it frost resistant. A nut protein has been added to soya bean to increase the protein content. Finally, factory farming in which animals are fed nicely so as to increase their meat, is also the need of hour.

On the downside, such Technology has reduced the need for manpower and many people are now jobless. Moreover, factory farming is considered inhuman . animals are tightly packed in cramped spaces and this may lead to many diseases. Genetic modification is also considered unnatural and as it is relatively new, people are also concerned about its long term harmful effects. last but not least, the rich countries use this technology and further increase the gap between the rich and the poor.

To put in a nutshell, I pen down saying that as a garden have weeds, such developments have their pros and cons. we should know where to draw the line and take maximum advantage of this technology and minimizing its harmful effects.