New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that advances in technology have resulted in a significant change in the way children spend their leisure time. Why this trend could be beneficial to some extent, I would argue that it has more drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why modern technologies namely computer games or the internet benefit children. First, many scientific studies demonstrate that some kinds of computer games can help to improve children’s cognitive function. For example, strategic games require players to solve complicated and unexpected situations in a logical manner, so children who play these games can better their critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Second, a broad spectrum of useful information on the internet could broaden children’s knowledge and their awareness of the world. They could find it easy to search on the internet, gaining information about their field of interest such as wildlife or various destinations around the world.

On the other hand, I believe that such modern technologies have a more negative impact on the development of children. One reason is that children who spend time in front of computer screens could be reluctant to do exercise. This sedentary lifestyle would make children more prone to the risk of developing several diseases such as obesity or diabetes. Conversely, youngsters used to participate more in physical when they did not have much chance to use computers. Additionally, some games tempt people to continue to play for hours, which leads to game addiction. To be addicted to games, many children neglect their studies and the consequence of this is bad results at school.

In conclusion, although new technology might bring several advantages, I believe that its disadvantages are greater as it could be detrimental to the development of children.