New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, society is gradually modernizing, and along with it is the appearance of technological gadgets, especially smartphones and computers. Then, it has changed the way children spend their free time. Despite some obvious harms of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, technological devices may help children to broaden their horizons with valuable knowledge. With the help of smartphones, children can study anywhere, in any subject, or look up any information they want instantly. In addition, it also can relieve their stress after school. For example, they can use smartphones to listen to their favorite pieces of music, read online novels or watch films, etc. And especially, they can make friends and communicate with foreign friends.

On the other hand, spending a lot of time on technology can be harmful to children. Firstly, they can easily get diseases such as back pain, eyestrain, etc. For instance, children spending hours sitting in front of the computer screen without going out to exercise will make the eyes not rest, and the body stagnates. Secondly, because the children are too young to be able to control themselves, they may think negatively due to inappropriate information, which makes their relationships worse, less confident when standing in front of people, and there may be unfortunate cases due to online imitations. Finally, many children waste a lot of time playing video games instead of paying attention to their studies. That is the reason why they often receive poor grades at school.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that technology has made children great in many ways. However, many problems will arise if children are not controlled when using technology.