New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology advances have enormous impacts on our daily life including changes in the way children enjoy their recreation time. However, like both sides of a coin, this innovation brings children both benefits and drawbacks. This essay attempts to shed light on both sides of this change before concluding if the benefits can minor the negative effects.

High-tech devices provide children with more-convenient learning and entertainment methods. In terms of learning, technological advancements illustrate information help children gain knowledge easier. Compared to books, television, smartphone, and laptop which are the most popular devices nowadays illustrate information more vividly with high-quality videos and images so that children may absorb new knowledge faster. In term of entertainment, playing video games help children both relax and build soft skills. For example, joining some tactic games on the computer which require children to work in teams or build strategies in order to win the game helps children to build teamwork skills and problem-solving skills.

However, there are compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that plus points can not cover minus points. The first reason is the blooming of the sedentary lifestyle among children as a result of technology overuse. As children give up physical activities for entertaining technologically, it may lead to further health problems such as obesity and short-sightedness. Another reason is that children may get access to toxic information while using social networks. We have yet fully control all sources of toxic documents published online so children may come across some violent videos and then perform bad behaviors accordingly.

In short, there is no doubt that technological innovation has both negative and positive effects on children's leisure activities. Personally, I believe that the former can not eat the cost of the latter.