New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Technologies have been a controversial topic of debate for a long time. People, especially children, spend their leisure time differently because of it. Some people think that this trend has some advantages, whereas another group of people believe that it can lead to some drawbacks. In my view, the drawbacks of those changes are more significant than the benefits.

Nowadays, high-tech products have become more and more ubiquitous all over the world. So, some parents think that it would be beneficial thing if their kids can reach out the modern technologies as soon as possible. The first benefit is that computers and other electrical devices that connect to the internet now offer more options. This would satisfy children's different preferences for entertainment, such as watching movies, listening to music or playing games on online platforms. Secondly, some useful skills and necessary qualities can either be acquired at an early age or acquired later. Besides, children prepare for the lesson before coming to school.

There are two major drawbacks when children devote much of their free time to playing electronic games or using the internet. Exercise is necessary for the physical development of children. Therefore, playing games on the street or in the park with their friends is an integral part of maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Moreover, spending too much time with their computers or mobile phones may lead to health problems for some teenagers. If they keep their eyes glued to screens for long hours, they may suffer from eye strain. For example, one of my old friends, has become autistic and socially isolated because he was spending all day on the internet.

In conclusion, technology does offer several positive aspects. However, the disadvantages are more dangerous and intimidating.