New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages

Recent explosion of new technologies and trends have affected people's lives in every aspect, and it has dramatically changed the way youngsters spend their free time now a days. This essay discusses why I am inclined with the fact that disadvantages of this phenomenon outweigh advantages.

There are two main disadvantages associated with young people using new technologies to spend their free time. Firstly, it has increased the trend of having sedentary life styles in younger generation which often lead to prevalent health problems such as obesity and diabetes. In the past, children used to spend a lot of time outdoors engaging physically demanding activities with colleagues, however, at present they often tend to stay indoors and spend time with computers, phone or tablets. Secondly, teenagers often tend to prefer to make connections and spend a lot of time with online friends rather than with people who are physically present such as family members or colleagues. This trend often leads to poor relationships with those who are in immediate circle, which, in turn may lead to poor quality of their personal lives.

On the other hand, there are also some advantages of youngsters utilizing new technologies to spend their free time. New technologies have enabled many interesting hobbies which would be not possible otherwise, such as drone photography. Now a days there are sophisticated technologies built in to drones and cameras so that it has become far more easier to learn and start such an interesting activity. If someone develops the skill well, it is also possible to earn a good extra income as well.

In conclusion, though new technologies have brought some advantages with respect to how young people spend their leisure time, there are demerits such as increased health problems and decreased quality of personal relationships. It is, therefore, recommended to use new new technologies wisely in a way that they do not bring negative aspects to our lives.