New technologies have changed the way children spend
their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?
It is true that many children now spend much of their spare time playing with the
latest technological devices. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I
believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.
On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when children devote much of
their free time to playing electronic games or using the Internet. Firstly, exercise is
necessary for the physical development of children, so playing games in the street
or in the park with their friends is anintegral part of maintaining a healthy
lifestyle. Secondly, spending too much time on their computers or mobile phones
may lead to health problems for some youngsters. If they keep theireyes glued to
screens for hours on end, they may suffer from eye-strain. Waves from hi-
fidevices also tend to cause headaches if used for too long.
On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such
disadvantages. One reason for this view is that new technologies encourage
children to use their free time to broadentheir knowledge, which is possible in
fun ways through interactive software. My young nephew, for example, spends
hours on the Internet learning about dinosaurs. Another reason is that the Internet
gives youngsters countless opportunities to discover friends with the same
interests in any part of the world, using chat rooms and social networks such as
Facebook. Consequently, new technologies both promote the habit of self-study
and encourage young people to develop a wide circle of virtual friends.
In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of this modern trend are more
significant than the disadvantages.