Newspapers are having enormous influence on people ideas and opinions. Why is this case? Is it a positive or negative situation?

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, the attitude people adopt towards newspapers has undergone far-reaching transformation. Hence, it is imperative that we should analyze possible reasons giving rise to this phenomenon objectively and figure out its boons as well as banes.

To begin with, it is noteworthy that the papers are dependable media for providing people with access to daily events all over the world. Many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, newspapers disseminate adequate information in a variety of critical fields such as cultural, social, political, economic, and so on. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that newspapers are an effective means for distributing accurate news not only locally but also globally. Besides, the press facilitates those who do not have the opportunity to approach other forms of media. For example, according to statistics, some underdeveloped rural areas, they lack the necessary infrastructure to connect media such as television, radio, and the Internet. This example is the illustration of the fact that the more people reading newspaper, the more influential they are.

In addition, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that the producers can employ sophisticated strategies to misguide the public, typically spreading rumors, fabricating news, exaggerating the facts, inflating fears. This argument is true to some extent; however, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is that in most countries, local authorities exercise severe censorship before publication. For example, media watchdogs impose stringent regulations on the process of obtaining information from the news, which must go through edition, adjustment, and approval before being printed. From this example, people still regard newspapers as a relatively influential medium.

In conclusion, based on the analysis mentioned above, gathering information from newspapers has long been a practice, so people's opinions are impacted as a result. Needless to say, it continues to play an important role in ever-accelerated living tempo.