Some people argue that the government should spend money on public services and facilities, but not on the arts. Do you agree or disagree?

In numerous countries, investing in public utilities and infrastructure rather than in the arts has become a notably topical issue. Although arts play a unique role in modern life, they are perceived as a luxury good. To my knowledge, concentrating on public facilities yields not only social benefits but also economic values, and this statement indicates that this opinion is correct.

Firstly, public facilities are widely acknowledged as one of the nation's elevated development priorities. Particularly in developing countries, adequate funding should be directed toward public buildings such as schools, courts, post offices, libraries, parks, and so on. Because of the social benefits, these infrastructures are constantly standing for education and cultural activities. As a result, by increasing spending on aggregate works, the government is better able to meet citizens' needs and improve their living standards.

Secondly, in addition to the social benefits mentioned above, we must consider the economic value that public facilities provide to the community. As an illustration, an integrated transportation network (which includes maritime, land, inland waterways, and civil aviation) ensures the rapid movement of people and goods. Industrial and agricultural products can be easily exchanged and traded between regions. This example is the illustration of the fact that entrepreneurs, both domestic and foreign, will look at an area's infrastructure before deciding whether to pursue a business opportunity there.

In conclusion, it is self-evident that governments should prioritize social utilities and public infrastructures over the arts. Concerns about the quality of people's lives and urban development, in which businesses have an interest, are more pressing than ever.