non-traditional subjects such as music, art and acting should be considered as equally as other traditional subjects in primary schools.

Some argue that non-traditional subjects such as music, art and acting should be considered as equally as other traditional subjects in primary schools. This essay totally disagrees with the statement because these subjects are not important for basic survival and the employment opportunities are not ample.

To begin with, traditional subjects such as literature, mathematics and science are far more important than non-academic subjects. Academic subjects should be given importance and added as a mandatory part of the school curriculum. These subjects are essential for the basic survival of life. It will create a negative impact on pupils if they could not do basic addition or subtraction. People essentially deal with numbers every day. For instance, a person would not be hired in an interview if he is not capable of doing even a simple calculation.

The other alarming factor is poverty and unemployment. The job opportunity for a musician or an artist is very minimal compared to an engineer or a doctor. Not every individual can become a great musician or artist as Beethoven or Mona Lisa. The probability of success is very scarce. This will eventually lead to poverty and stress for both the individual and the family. A recent survey by Modern Times magazine has stated that the number of suicides by an artist because of unemployment have increased up to 33% across the globe. Hence it is advised to add these subjects as extra-curricular subjects and not mandatory subjects.

To conclude, the non-technical subjects can be included in the curriculum as optional; whereas the technical subjects should be given high priority because of the ample employment opportunity.