Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

There is a growing trend that animals are treated as parts of the development of new medicines to testify to their safety. Opinions are divided as to whether these experiments should still be encouraged in terms of benefits to society or they are worth banning due to the lack of morality. This essay will elaborate on both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter one.

On the one hand, animal experiments prove to be much safer especially when it is compared with those on humans. Considering the fact that medicines are developed on a daily basis in order to handle/address the massive growth of new diseases and illnesses, human experiments seem too dangerous and risky to put the lives of those on the edge of death. As a matter of fact, animals are regarded as contributions to the invention of newly-efficacious medicines, which is totally unharmful in the aspect of humans’ safety and does not force unwilling individuals to take part in these cruel processes. The invention of COVID 19 Vaccines is a perfect illustration of this case. Scientists in the USA have successfully experimented these on chimpanzees and monkeys so as to ensure the utmost effect without any harm to those getting vaccinated later. Subsequently, animal experiments have already played such an indispensable role in combating the most serious pandemic of this decade.

On the other hand, I will challenge the aforementioned school of thought since I believe the disadvantages emanating from this development are far more significant. First and foremost, lives of humans and animals deserve to be treated equally in the same measure. Undoubtedly, animals are creatures which have feelings and emotions as they have no obligation to enter such a cruel process to invent something that only benefits the human being. Many kinds of animals such as dogs and cats are considered to be not only friends but also, in some cases, valuable members which hold important positions in the family setting. Additionally, to achieve one goal in the medicine industry, I suppose humans have to sacrifice a huge number of innocent animals, some of which are on the verge of extinction and this somehow has devastating effects on the environment or the biodiversity. The supporters of animals have their right to prevent animals from being killed and abused without justifiable reasons as there are still some ways to test the effect of new medicines thanks to the advancement of technology and computerized analyses.

In conclusion, while animal experiments have been truly beneficial to human beings as they are solutions to ramifications of some severe diseases, I am more convinced that humans should stop using animals as the tool to invent medicines due to their precious lives and the possibility of new experiments technology can bring to us.