Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that animal experiments are carried out widely for developing new drugs and testing safety of other products. I would agree with these experiments for their great positive impact.

Some people disagree with animal testing for a moral reason. They believe that both animals and humans are creatures in the planet, therefor animals have the same right and status as humans. However, researchers always inject developing medications into mice and rabbits in animal experiments, which is likely to have side effects on their body and even decrease their life expectancy. In addition, they have to experience pain led by the injection with the control of humans. It is claimed that all the above is unfair for those animals living on the same earth with us and what humans do ignores animals’ right.

Despite the above arguments, I would agree with those who are in favor of animal tests. These tests play a key role in scientific research and drug development. Many important drugs are validated on animals before they are used by people, which has saved many patients suffering from diseases. I believe those opponents would change their attitude if their relatives and friends need a drug which is needed to do animal tests to verify its effectiveness. Also, many scientists have conducted a lot of researches to find the best way to experiment to minimize animals’ unnecessary pain.

In conclusion, while it may do damage to animals involved in tests, I would argue that animal tests do have great importance.